Christmas in Milwaukie: Transfer 3, Week 6‏

Hello all! I hope everybody had a wonderful Christmas. Mine was good, but bittersweet. Yesterday was transfers and SUPER busy, so I’m shooting off this quick email today. I promise I’ll be more interesting next week.
So last week started off pretty normal. Last P-Day we didn’t do too much, we just went around town and went shopping then went to play basketball, and that’s really all we did. Tuesday we the 22nd and it was my mom’s birthday (Happy Birthday Mom, you da best! 😉 ). Wednesday was a fairly normal missionary day, just going around and talking to people. What was cool was that that night we went to go see a guy that had dropped us about 2 months ago and he was more open and willing to listen to us! The Lord works in mysterious ways! Thursday was when it got fun! So Thursday was Christmas Eve and we couldn’t really do much missionary work that day, in the morning we went and had donuts with the Sopers and then we went down to Mollala to hang out with a Spanish family and they fed us lunch. We had chorizo (beef) and beans and rice and tortillas and we made tacos and stuff. We also played some games with the other missionaries. It was a lot of fun! I also loved getting to go to Mollala because it’s rural and country and that’s my favorite. I love getting to get out of the city for a bit. But anyways, we came back and we went to go hang out with the Sopers because they are the best family ever. They have the tradition of getting the whole family together and spending time together and eating clam chowder. It was really good and it was so much fun to spend time with them. Friday was Christmas!! Woo! So on Christmas we couldn’t do any proselyting at all because that time is supposed to be spent with families, so we got to spend time with members all day. On Christmas morning, we got up and we went to eat breakfast with a family in the stake and all the missionaries from the zone (stake) were there. It was fun! They had biscuits and gravy, which were good, but like Alan Jackson, I can confidently say, they weren’t like momma fixed ’em. But it was a fun time, and we got to see all the missionaries from the zone. After we ate, we went to the church and we got to Skype our families. I was nervous at first because I hadn’t seen my family since August, but it was SUPER good to talk to them and I miss them so much. After I got to Skype my family, we went over to the Sopers and spent the rest of the evening with them. They are the best, and there is so other people that I would have spent my Christmas with. We exchanged gifts and had dinner, and the rest of the night we spent talking and having Nerf gun skirmishes. It was an amazing Christmas, and despite spending it away from home, it was one of my most favorite Christmases. I’m so grateful to the Salazars for having us over for Christmas Eve lunch. I’m grateful to my family for being so loving and supportive of me and I was so happy to see them. But I am also the most grateful to the Sopers for being so loving and welcoming of us and sharing their holiday with us. They are really some of the most caring and generous people I’ve met.
On Saturday we got transfer calls, which were the bittersweet part. Unfortunately, I have to leave Milwaukie which I love SO much, but I get to stay Spanish and I am serving in Oregon City, the area next to Milwaukie. Saturday night, we ate with the Sopers (again, they are the best people ever) and they made me a lot of comfort food because I was going to be leaving. They made ribs and cornbread and collards and cheesy mashed potatoes, and also one of my favorite desserts from home. It was so good and so kind and thoughtful of them. On Sunday, I was asked to speak in sacrament meeting about whatever I wanted, so I spoke about how member missionary work is so important and how the members need to carry on, especially when the missionaries come and go. Towards the end I got super emotional because I care about these people SO much and I love them and I am going to miss them a lot. I feel like a part of my heart will always be in the Mount Talbert Spanish Branch in the Milwaukie Oregon stake.
But I have met some really incredible people so far and I am looking forward to getting to serve in Oregon City area. I love being a missionary, and I have definitely seen the work of angels on my mission. I have grown to love the people here so much and I am excited to see what the rest of my mission holds!
Have a great week! I love you all!
Love, Elder Davies

Leave a Reply

