Surprise Transfer: Transfer 5, Week 3‏

Elder White and I doing service at a retirement home. We played games with the residents and it was happy hour so we got Cokes.
Elder White and I doing service at a retirement home. We played games with the residents and it was happy hour so we got Cokes.
My favorite people ever
My favorite people ever
Stopped at Walmart while we were walking in the rain. Elder Anderson was buying some Girl Scout cookies.
Stopped at Walmart while we were walking in the rain. Elder Anderson was buying some Girl Scout cookies.
Candid of us tempering the knife
Candid of us tempering the knife
First public transportation bus ride experience
First public transportation bus ride experience

Hello everyone! So this week, I want to start off and list all the
things I’m grateful for.

I’m grateful for the opportunity that I have to be a missionary and
serve the Lord and bring the gospel to other people.
I’m grateful for the gospel in my life. I’m grateful to live in this
amazing country where I have the freedom to worship how I please.
I’m grateful for amazing parents that love me and support me and have
raised me to love the gospel.
I’m grateful for family and friends who are awesome and love me and support me.
I’m grateful for an apartment I can go to when it’s cold and rainy.
I’m grateful for food and for the fact I’ve never had to go hungry in my life.
I’m grateful for a car so that we can drive places and do what we need to.
I’m grateful for my health and my strength. The Lord has blessed me
with the ability to be healthy and able to do the things I want to.
I’m grateful for the ability that I have been blessed with to be able
to learn Spanish so quickly.
I’m grateful for all the amazing people I have met on my mission. I
have truly been blessed to meet some incredible people who will be
lifelong friends.
I’m grateful for the Holy Ghost in my life so I can be lead and guided
and know what I need to do.

I’m so grateful for all these things, and so many more, but I don’t
want to bore y’all, so I’ll just leave it at that. Being grateful is
really important because it helps us be humble and happy about things.
When we step back and look at our lives and all the things we are
grateful for, we realize how many blessings we already have, and it
really does make us happier. This week was a little tough, so I have
been pondering a lot about what I am grateful for.

So last week on pday we went over to a 17 year old kids house in OC to
spend pday with him. He is homeschooled and he is the coolest kid ever.
Basically, his hobbies are like blacksmithing and working outside and
just being a total stud overall, so he took off a bit of homeschool
and let us come over to make a knife with him. It was awesome. We
basically started with a piece of steel and heated it and hammered it
into shape then grinded it more into shape then sanded it and tempered
it and sanded it some more and made a knife. It was the coolest pday
ever. Unfortunately, there were six missionaries and one knife and we
couldn’t all make one, so we now have a Brotherhood of the Traveling
Knife. It was some of the most fun I’ve had since I’ve been out here.
I’ll attach pictures.

Tuesday was a regular day. We had district meeting then we went to the
library and after that we went to Milwaukie because I had an interview
with President. At first I was super nervous and I was thinking of all
the bad things I’ve ever done, but it was a normal interview and he
asked me more about how Elder Mugleston was doing as a district leader
than about me. He also talked about how we have a lot of missionaries
coming out in the summer and I will have to train, most likely
English. It was a very normal interview and everything was fine. We
ate dinner and we played volleyball and it was a fun and good day.

Wednesday started off normal. We were studying in the morning and at
about 10 in the morning I get a call from the Assistants to the
President and they said that I’m getting surprised transferred to
Beaverton and I need to pack all my stuff and leave OC as soon as I
could. I was so sad and mad and disappointed and frustrated because I
LOVE Oregon City so much and I never wanted to leave. But I decided
not to fight against the inevitable, I switched and tried to have the
best attitude I could. That’s why I’ve been thinking a lot about all
I’m grateful for, because it helps keep you happy and positive.

So Wednesday, I packed my stuff and tried to say goodbye to as many
people in OC that I could, and we made the swap in the afternoon. I
got to Beaverton, and my new companion, Elder Anderson told me that
the car was in the shop getting some repairs, and we wouldn’t get it
back until Monday. So we have been walking and taking the bus and
relying on other elders to take us places. It’s been quite the fun
experience riding public transportation for the first time and walking
all over the place.

We have some solid people here. We have a recent convert named Camilo
and he is the coolest. He’s from Mexico and he has one of the greatest
mullets I’ve ever seen in my life. His hair is majestic. I tried to
sneak a quick picture, but I wasn’t able to. We also have an
investigator named Estuardo from Guatemala and he is a cool guy. He
used to be a catholic missionary and one of his friends had talked to
missionaries and needed help reading the Book of Mormon in Spanish
because the words are tough, and he helped him. While Estuardo was
helping his friend, he read like all of 1 Nephi by himself and he told
us that he knows it is true just by the way it is written. So we
taught him the Plan of Salvation and he was super into it and super
golden and he accepted a suave, which is a soft baptismal commitment.
We just have to pick a day for him to get baptized and get him to
church.

But it’s been fun since I’ve been here. I don’t know why I’m here, or
what I’m need to do here, but I’m excited to be here and do what I
need to, even if that means walking or taking the bus (public
transportation really is fun. I’ve already seen a prostitute and a
drug deal).

“The Standard of Truth has been erected; no unhallowed hand can stop
the work from progressing; persecutions may rage, mobs may combine,
armies may assemble, calumny may defame, but the truth of God will go
forth boldly, nobly, and independent, till it has penetrated every
continent, visited every clime, swept every country, and sounded in
every ear, till the purposes of God shall be accomplished, and the
Great Jehovah shall say the work is done.”
-Joseph Smith Jr.

I love y’all! Have a great week!
Elder Davies

 


Elder Jeremiah Z Davies

Leave a Reply

