HAPPY EASTER!!: Transfer 5, Week 7‏

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Hey everyone! Hope y’all had a great Easter!
So today are transfers! I’m staying here in Beaverton and I’m getting a new companion!
So last pday we went to downtown Portland to hang out and walk around and go to some
shops. I really didn’t want to go, but Elder Anderson’s cousin is in
the mission too and he is leaving today so they wanted to hang out one
last time. I thought it was just gonna be us so I was in a bad mood,
but it turned out being a lot of friends from Oregon City, so I was
happy. I got to saw Elder Hansen too! He was one of the English elders that lived with me and Elder
Buhler for a while and he’s awesome. He’s a farm boy from Logan Utah
that came out with me and he’s hilarious. I loved sharing an apartment
with him because he’s so funny. Monday turned out to be not
as bad as I initially thought.

We had a lot of lessons cancel on us and people bail because it was
Spring Break, so it was a slow week. But we did have an awesome lesson
on Tuesday with a less active part member family. So the branch we are
currently in has only been around for about two months, and we were
given a LONG list of members that they think are in our branch but
aren’t sure and told us to go visit them. So we were going through and
like everybody but like 6 families have moved, but we found this one
family. It’s a young couple and they have a little boy that’s like 2
or 3. The mom is a white redhead that doesn’t speak any Spanish at
all, but was raised in the church and went inactive a long long time
ago. The dad is a Hispanic dude from California that speaks Spanish
(he prefers English though) but he’s not a member and is Catholic.
They were SUPER nice and the mom seemed really open to listening to
us, even though we don’t know if it’s fake or not. So that went really
well. We taught them the Restoration and they invited us back, so
that’s a good thing!

Friday we went to the retirement home that we go to every Friday to
play games and talk to the residents. It was fun, and we were enjoy
getting to know the residents and spending time with them. They also
asked us to come again on Saturday and do a special Easter program
where we sang Easter hymns for them. The activities director is LDS
and she kinda uses us to do a lot of stuff there. We went with a 10 other missionaries and sang
Easter hymns to the elderly folks. They loved it. It was an awesome
experience and I’m so glad we got the opportunity!

Saturday morning, we also had an Easter party for our branch. We had
lots of food and the kids painted Easter eggs and they had an egg hunt
and it was a really fun time! I was the grill master for the hotdogs,
of course. They also had a piñata, because they’re Hispanics. It was a
really fun time.

Yesterday we had church and we had a lot of less actives (chr-easters)
come to church. It felt like a normal day of church, except I was
wearing my super awesome Easter tie. I got a lot of compliments on it,
so props to my mom. She’s the most amazing woman I know. After church we had dinner with this HUGE family from
here. There was like 20 people there. One of the son in laws is our
2nd counselor, so we got invited. Everything was like all organic, sugar free and bought locally. It was a fun time. But the food ended up being really good, and it was a fun time. We had a great Easter!

So I want to include a part of one of my favorite talks about Easter. It’s called Where Justice, Love, and Mercy Meet by Elder Holland in the April 2014 General Conference. He says:
“This Easter I thank Him and the Father, who gave Him to us, that Jesus still stands triumphant over death, although He stands on wounded feet. This Easter I thank Him and the Father, who gave Him to us, that He still extends unending grace, although He extends it with pierced palms and scarred wrists. This Easter I thank Him and the Father, who gave Him to us, that we can sing before a sweat-stained garden, a nail-driven cross, and a gloriously empty tomb:
‘How great, how glorious, how complete,
Redemption’s grand design,
Where justice, love, and mercy meet
In harmony divine!'”

I love my Savior. I’m so grateful for Easter and for the opportunity that we have to repent and be forgiven and return to heaven. I’m so grateful for my Redeemer. Follow Him.

Love y’all,
Elder Davies

Leave a Reply

